Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35

Thread: Deleting posts

  1. #21
    Uncensored Hypocrite stevedmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    VIN
    16510
    Posts
    5,486
    It's that box you connect ethernet cables to.
    Rest assured, we have a backup of Farrar's car blog and it will be restored in the near future. (Steve Rice - March 2016)
    Rest assured, we have a backup of Shep's posts and all of them will be restored in the near future. (Steve Rice - March 2017)

  2. #22
    Quote Originally Posted by stevedmc View Post
    It's that box you connect ethernet cables to.
    What's a box.
    Bungee Cup Holder Guru

  3. #23
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Upstate NY
    VIN
    04728
    Posts
    3,669
    Quote Originally Posted by Lou and "Boo" View Post
    What is a managed switch?
    It's a Layer 3 switch Lou.....a Layer 2 switch with a router under the hood.

    In this application I don't think they have IP routing enabled, so I expect to make some changes "while I'm in there."

    *correction: a managed switch isn't necessarily a Layer 3 switch. I was thinking the managed switch I'm going to work on is a Layer 3 switch (a Layer 2 switch with a router under the hood.)

  4. #24
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Upstate NY
    VIN
    04728
    Posts
    3,669
    Quote Originally Posted by stevedmc View Post
    It's that box you connect ethernet cables to.
    Perfect answer

  5. #25
    Uncensored Hypocrite stevedmc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    VIN
    16510
    Posts
    5,486
    Managed switches are cool. If rich knew the password he could do all that stuff remotely. Well, if they have a Wan connection.
    Rest assured, we have a backup of Farrar's car blog and it will be restored in the near future. (Steve Rice - March 2016)
    Rest assured, we have a backup of Shep's posts and all of them will be restored in the near future. (Steve Rice - March 2017)

  6. #26
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Upstate NY
    VIN
    04728
    Posts
    3,669
    Quote Originally Posted by stevedmc View Post
    Managed switches are cool. If rich knew the password he could do all that stuff remotely. Well, if they have a Wan connection.
    Exactly. (...you're good brah!) That is, if remote access was configured. The company I work for provides a /29 public subnet to this customer and they have a few unused live IP's; after I'm in, I'll probably assign one as a management IP and likely will need to use it in the future. I'm expecting that since they didn't have someone for a simple password recovery, I'll also be recruited for a few other things (like setting up remote management.) Should be a fun day.

  7. #27
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich_NYS View Post
    Exactly. (...you're good brah!) That is, if remote access was configured. The company I work for provides a /29 public subnet to this customer and they have a few unused live IP's; after I'm in, I'll probably assign one as a management IP and likely will need to use it in the future. I'm expecting that since they didn't have someone for a simple password recovery, I'll also be recruited for a few other things (like setting up remote management.) Should be a fun day.
    I forgot Rich was IT. Me too It's nice being lazy sometimes and just being a user.

  8. #28
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Upstate NY
    VIN
    04728
    Posts
    3,669
    Quote Originally Posted by sedated View Post
    I forgot Rich was IT. Me too It's nice being lazy sometimes and just being a user.


    Even though I have a Cisco cert, I'm still gangster! -lol

  9. #29
    Hey, do you IT guys have any experience setting up a PC-based home surveillance system?

  10. #30
    Consider this a warning Dead Lesbian Goat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    East TN
    VIN
    05609
    Posts
    4,349
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Boglin View Post
    Hey, do you IT guys have any experience setting up a PC-based home surveillance system?
    I use IP cameras..easy peasy and you can monitor from any device anywhere and no monthly charges...uses your home WiFi

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •